The prizes won by Nigerians at the 2023 CAF Awards

The prizes won by Nigerians at the 2023 CAF Awards
Victor Osimhen celebrates goal during the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers game between Nigeria and Sao Tome and Principe at Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo, Nigeria on 10 September 2023 © Justina Aniefiok/BackpagePix

Nigerian were the biggest winners at the 2023 Confederation of Africa Football (CAF) Awards on Monday night in Marrakech, Morocco.

Super Eagles striker, Victor Osimhen, beat Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi and Egyptian superstar, Mohamed Salah to be named the Player of the Year.

Osimhen’s compatriot, Asisat Oshoala, won the women’s prize for a record sixth time, ahead of South African Thembi Kgatlana and Zambia’s Barbara Banda.

Oshoala’s Super Falcons’ team mate, Chiamaka Nnadozie, took home her first-ever CAF Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year award.

The Paris FC captain beat fellow nominees Khadija Er-Rmichi of Morocco and South Africa’s Andile Dlamini to the groundbreaking prize.

The Super Falcons won women’s national team of the Year.


No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *